Jacob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1S, Volvo XC40, Honda VFR1200X
Occupation
Retired
Clubs

It’s a joke that the court’s even entertain these dumb cases born from mafia-like deals made between politicians and dealerships designed to create a protectionist market with artificially inflated prices. Free market be damned!
Phil, I’m not a lawyer but I read the arguments and watched the hearings live on uTube before the district court judge in this zoning variance matter. Clearly, the Buick dealer was intent on delaying Rivian’s approval to open a service center in the same city, but I recall the judge remarking at the conclusion of one hearing that this was an interesting case around the question of the Buick dealer’s standing. Rivian’s local counsel, Attorney Alan Tyma was impressive.

All in all, I think this case was addressed relatively quickly in judicial process terms. I suspect the Buick dealer incurred substantial legal expenses only to delay the service center opening by about a year.
Sponsored

RivianPioneer

First Name
Phil
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1S
Occupation
Lawyer
I wish I was as confident about this as you. From what I know about these age old dealership arrangements that have been made in the dark corridors of state legislatures and out of the watchful eye of the public, they are pretty stilted in favor of keeping competition out, and favor dealerships. This is all to the detriment of free market principles and hurts us, the general public, who should be able to purchase automobiles at competitive prices from any legitimate sales outlet, whether or not they are dealerships or something else. One day maybe the general public will have a say and this nonsense will stop.

Stephe

First Name
Stephen
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Occupation
It
So I happened to visit this location since it had been about a year. Now marked private property and has cameras everywhere. Not sure what that will mean or if Riv found a diff building