Sponsored

Self-Employed: Don't ignore the massive tax deduction benefit of depreciation!

Haupdate

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Jan/Feb 23 R1T
First off: I am not a tax professional. Talk to your CPA.

With the R1T/R1S priced out for 2023 federal tax credits (for those without the contract pre-aug 22) and prices ever climbing, I wanted to remind those self employed individuals about depreciation.

Since the R1T and R1S are over 6k pounds, you can claim the entire purchase amount as a deductible expense in the first year! Then you deduct actual expenses for the years following versus milage (goes on the schedule C).

For example: You buy an R1T for 75k. You can deduct the entire amount in the first year as depreciation. If you are in the 22% tax bracket and use the vehicle 80% of the time for work, you could save $13,200! Remember, its not a credit, but its a nice deduction to be considered.
Sponsored

Davethadog

First Name
YaMa
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Trucks, bikes, excavators
S179 is good for a lot of things, but it’s not going to help you get a free truck.

Reactions: Guy
OP
OP
Haupdate

Haupdate

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Jan/Feb 23 R1T
The point was not to get into individual tax code...just a friendly reminder that it exists for those on the fence that wont qualify for the EV tax credit in 2023 for whatever reason.

Donald Stanfield

First Name
Donald
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T, 2024 BMW i4 M50
Occupation
Stuff and things
The way this is written you need to justify why the vehicle is necessary for your business. No, driving to and from work doesn’t count. What this law was designed for are people who use vehicles as equipment to make money like service professionals.