Sponsored

opnwide

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1S delivered 2/2023
I'm not an electrician, but if the code for sizing says it can run 48A if the wire is rated for 90C I can't really see the difference. Again, I'm not an electrician but I did have a licensed electrician tell me it was fine.
In a nutshell, it’s the “continuous load” rule 215.2(A)(1) that trumps the “next size up” rule 240.4(B). The maximum ampacity of #6 Romex is 55amps. Since an EVSE is “continuous load”, rule says you must multiply 48A load by 125%=60amps, too much for 55ampacity #6 Romex.

At least that’s what my bartender told me. YBTMV (your bartender may vary).
Sponsored

SANZC02

First Name
Bob
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Tesla Model S, LE - R1S
Occupation
Retired
I'm not an electrician, but if the code for sizing says it can run 48A if the wire is rated for 90C I can't really see the difference. Again, I'm not an electrician but I did have a licensed electrician tell me it was fine.
Look at the specs, Romex 6/2 and 6/3 are not rated for 90c, the external sheathing is tight and not enough air to circulate so it is derated to 60c with a max draw of 55 amps. That is not enough to charge at 48 amps.

Donald Stanfield

First Name
Donald
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T, 2024 BMW i4 M50
Occupation
Stuff and things
Look at the specs, Romex 6/2 and 6/3 are not rated for 90c, the external sheathing is tight and not enough air to circulate so it is derated to 60c with a max draw of 55 amps. That is not enough to charge at 48 amps.
Then Why is it stamped with 90C rating right on the outer sheath?

opnwide

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1S delivered 2/2023
Then Why is it stamped with 90C rating right on the outer sheath?
"NMB cable is rated for 90 degree as per the manufactures and the listing of the cable.
HOWEVER,
NMB is LIMITED to 60 degree as far as the ampacity is concerned (by The National Electric Code)