Sponsored

Rivian Off-Road Recovery Kit worth $600?

freshpow

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Off-road newbie here but excited to start getting more into it once I receive my R1S. Wondering if anyone has a strong opinion on whether the off-road recovery kit Rivian is offering is worth the $600. Did a quick search and seems like one could compile a similar kit for less than $200. Thoughts?
Sponsored

DaveA

First Name
David
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1T
I received this kit free as a gift due to some issues from Rivian. I would say you could definitely build your own kit much cheaper but the items are high quality from what I can tell.

godfodder0901

First Name
Jared
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2004 Honda Civic EX, 2022 Rivian R1T LE
We looked into it in the beginning, right after the price was announced. To build a kit with the same components, you'll spend the same if not more. You could absolutely build a similar kit for a little cheaper or an inferior kit for much cheaper, but you would have a hard time building the same kit for cheaper.

crashmtb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2002 aluminium garden shed TD5
Off-road newbie here but excited to start getting more into it once I receive my R1S. Wondering if anyone has a strong opinion on whether the off-road recovery kit Rivian is offering is worth the $600. Did a quick search and seems like one could compile a similar kit for less than $200. Thoughts?
You cannot assemble a kit of the same exact items for any less than Rivian is selling it for. It’s all factor 55/warn stuff. High end.

wertuio

First Name
Puck
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Nissan Pathfinder
Occupation
Movie scout
Clubs

Having towed lots of vehicles out of heavy sand, mud, riverbed, and other dubious situations, I'm not sure any off-the-counter tow straps are strong enough for the 7000 lb Rivian, either towing or being towed.
So I am getting their recovery kit.