First Name
Tom
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Riv R1T
Occupation
Sales
There was a salvaged compressor on eBay a few months ago. It had AMK parts numbers on it, it’s one of these models:

https://amk-group.com/en/products/air-suspension-compressors/passenger-cars/lfk/

Unfortunately I could not tell precisely which model based on the photos available and AMK has only very basic information available on their website. I’m an engineer and love tearing things apart, but I didn’t want to spend $300 on the salvage compressor to learn more.

I had a Land Rover LR3 that I personally maintained so I am very familiar with their design and function. My Land Rover had a Hitachi compressor (JLR later switched to AMK) and Dunlop air springs. The systems are very similar.

The compressors have a temperature sensor on the compressor head to shut off power if the compressor overheats. The internal seals are all plastic so heat destroys them. My LR3 compressor shut off around 190F.

The system pulls in fresh make up air to compensate for system leaks and vented off pressure when the ride height is lowered. The desiccant should be changed every 1-2 years depending on climate. In marine climates (like the PNW) the humid air saturates the desiccant quickly and when the temperature drops enough for a hard freeze the desiccant dryer will freeze up, restricting air flow. This makes the compressor work harder to move air into the system, leading to premature failure. We’ve already seen cases of air lines freezing up in the PNW with @jjswan33 ‘s R1T. I have not heard of a premature compressor failure, however.
Thanks! That AMK literature says those have self-regenerating dryer units. That seems to mean the desiccant is being regenerated by I am assuming heat? So then would the desiccant still require periodic replacement?
Sponsored

Forager

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Occupation
Structural Engineer
Clubs