Sponsored

DIY R1 Brush Guard Installed

larsb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1S
Hey all,
Just wanted to share this no-nonsense brush guard project. Was not a fan of all the wiry thin tube designs floating around, and decided to build my own. This is my first attempt and so far no issues with any sensor, camera, frunk, nor lighting obstructions. Let me know your thoughts.

I might even be persuaded to custom build a few more of these if there is interest out in the community...?

Rivian R1T R1S DIY R1 Brush Guard Installed IMG_1999

Rivian R1T R1S DIY R1 Brush Guard Installed IMG_1990

Rivian R1T R1S DIY R1 Brush Guard Installed IMG_1988
Sponsored

crashmtb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2002 aluminium garden shed TD5
at best this is a push bar. Traffic isn't that bad, is it?

OP
OP

larsb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1S
To clarify, this initial build was kitbashed/hacked from existing available COTS parts with the goal of validating install and verifying potential obstruction issues as mentioned above. In parallel, I am also designing a more integrated 'full coverage" setup as a next iteration. Here's a CAD example of that WIP.

Rivian R1T R1S DIY R1 Brush Guard Installed Brushguardconcept02_031124

Sponsored

twizzstyle

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2022 R1T, 2018 Model 3, 2017 Model X
No interest from me, but it's nice to see some legitimate DIY work that isn't just a bunch of FDM printed junk.

Signed, another DIYer not too far from you. I'll keep my eye out (I'm in Kenmore)

OP
OP

larsb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1S
Did you look into including a way to mount a winch? I have not seen any options in the market.
Yes (kinda) I have been thinking about that but so far have not actually done it. You may have just sparked that option back to life :idea: