First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2023 R1T
Occupation
Dog Wrangler
I know there are various ideas about what the future of battery tech will look like, but as long as Lithium is king, we should look for ways to produce it domestically when possible. This article, written by a Geologist, explains that in the course of generating electricity via geothermal brine from deep in the earth, we could extract the lithium from the brine and return the water and other minerals back into the earth. Doing so with only 11 plants located on the Salton Sea in California would produce 10 times what our current demand for lithium is in the US. This seems like a win-win situation with sustainable domestic electricity production and much needed lithium extraction. Anyone see a dark side to this that I am missing?

https://www.fastcompany.com/90735227/geothermal-plants-lithium-boost-ev-battery-industry

**Disclaimer** I am NOT a scientist. I am just a worn out 47 year old former bike messenger and Rugby player who has probably taken too many hits to the head and now owns a successful dog daycare. I love EVs and technology. Please take mercy on me and forgive any technical errors I may make when opening my big mouth.
Sponsored

Riviot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
R1T
Clubs

**Disclaimer** I am NOT a scientist. I am just a worn out 47 year old former bike messenger and Rugby player who has probably taken too many hits to the head and now owns a successful dog daycare.
☝I love this. Any time I give medical advice or critique a doctor's orders or opinion, I always end with #NotADoctor

crashmtb

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
2002 aluminium garden shed TD5
☝I love this. Any time I give medical advice or critique a doctor's orders or opinion, I always end with #NotADoctor
disclaimers are good

sub

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicles
Rivian R1S, Tesla Model 3